Extended deadline for student research grants announced -

Don't forget to secure your membership before applying for GTÖ grants

Supported projects and grant winners

Travel Grant Awardees

Lisbon 2024

The following students were selected for a travel grant (200 Euro) to Lisbon: Olivier Jean Leonce Manzi (University of Gothenburg, Sweden & University of Rwanda, Rwanda), Linh Nguyen (German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research (iDiv) Leipzig, Germany), Lea Kerwer (Senckenberg Biodiversity a Climate Research Center, Frankfurt Main), Eliza Nathalie Van de Sande (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Noreen Mutoro (University of Salzburg), Gladys Kung'u (University of Salzburg), Gargi Roy Chowdhury (Wildlife Institute of India), Laura Würzberg (University of Göttingen).

Ceske Budejovice 2023

The following students were selected for a travel grant (200 Euro) to Ceske Budejovice: Edmund Basham (University of Texas, USA), Demirel Maza-esso Bawa (University of Belgrade, Serbia), Marina Maximiano (National Institute of Amazonian Research, Manaus, Brazil), Caka Karlsson (Lund University, Sweden), Iago Ferreiro Arias (University of Seville, Spain), Aymeric Oliveira-Xavier (Université de Sherbrooke, Canada), Noreen Mutoro (Paris Lodron University of Salzburg, Austria), Xingyan Cao (Ghent University, Belgium), Nadia Sabchuk (State University of Maringá, Brazil), Gladys Kungu (University of Salzburg, Austria), Marlon Wichmann (University of Vechta, Germany), David Keck (University of Hamburg, Germany), Franklin Marin (Ghent University, Belgium).

Edinburgh 2019 

The following students were selected for a travel grant (200 Euro) to Edinburgh: Amelia Hood (University of Cambridge, UK), Ana Beatriz Navarro (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil), Andrew Riesen Tilker (Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research, Germany), Dominik Schwab (University of Göttingen, Germany), Elena Quintero (Estación Biológica de Doñana, Spain), Frederik Kiene (University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Germany), Malcom Ramsay (University of Veterinary Medicine Hanover, Germany), Olga Natalie Tserej Vazquez (University of Miami, USA), Paulina Zigelski (University of Hamburg, Germany), Saskia Dröge(University of Hildesheim, Germany), Kerstin Pierick (University of Göttingen, Germany), Badru Mugerwa (Berlin Institute of Technology, Germany).


Student Research Grant Awardees

Grant Projects 2023

Saskia Dröge, Environmental outcomes of voluntary sustainability standards (VSS) in the cocoa sector in Luwu, Luwu Utara and Luwu Timur in Sulawesi, Indonesia

Andressa Cabral, The spatio-temporal co-diversification of frugivory-related traits

Tyler James Cuddy, Mesocarnivore Ecology and the Impacts of Heavy Metals in the Environment

Jessica Valeria Mereci Guaman, The importance of rare tree species for forest ecosystem functioning in South Ecuadorian tropical montane forests

Rhuthuparna S B, Reflecting on enantiostyly: Investigating pollen transfer dynamics, morph ratio and outcrossing rate in mirror image flowers

Grant Projects 2019 

Dominik Schüßler, Comparative ecologic modeling to understand the role of phenotypic plasticity in explaining distributional patterns and the adaptability towards anthropogenic habitat degradation of lemurs in eastern Madagascar

Dounia Dhaou, Role of allelopathy in the functioning of mangroves in Vietnam

Gino Brignoli, Bird diversity across a human mediated disturbance gradient

Katherine Mullin, Assessing the effects of habitat fragmentation on amphibian populations in Madagascar’s high montane forests

Mukhlish Jamal Musa Holle, Contribution of millipedes to ecosystem functioning in tropical forest: an Experimental study

Nina White, Population recovery of the mountain chicken frog following a chytridiomycosis epidemic

Olga Tserej Vazquez, Can plants use leaf thermoregulatory traits to buffer themselves against global warming? An examination of intraspecific variation in traits and temperatures of avocado (Persea americana)

Sara Fernández Garzón, Vertical stratification of ant’s gut bacteria diversity using MALDI-TOF Mass Spectrometry for first time.